MENCS Lineups

NSCS: Logano Leads Penske Sweep Of Front Row At Chicagoland


Photo Credit: Getty Images For NASCAR


By: Kyle Brandt – Founder, Executive Editor (@kbrandtMRS)

September 13, 2013

JOLIET, Il.– Just hours after their Penske Racing team was placed on NASCAR probation, teammates, Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski swept the front row of the starting lineup for Sunday’s Geico 400 at Chicagoland Speedway.

Being implicated in questionable activities late in last weekend’s race at Richmond International Raceway and later being placed on NASCAR probation, many thought that there would be too many distractions for Joey Logano to make noise in the Chase.

Such wasn’t the case; however.

The 33rd driver to take time in Friday afternoon’s qualifying session, Joey Logano recorded a lap of 28.509 seconds with a speed of 189.414 MPH in his No. 22 Penske Racing Ford- which was good enough to land the pole position for Sunday’s 400-mile race.

Brad Keselowski, Logano’s teammate qualified in the second position with a lap of 28.534 seconds and put a period on Penske’s sweep of the front row.

One of several “lame duck drivers” in the Sprint Cup Series, Juan Pablo Montoya continued his audition for a new ride in 2014 by qualifying in the third position in his No. 42 Chevrolet with a lap of  28.562 seconds.

Chase for the Sprint Cup contender, Kasey Kahne qualified in the fourth position, with rookie, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., rounded out the top-five.

No drivers failed to qualify for the race.


Geico 400 at Chicagoland Speedway – Starting Lineup:

  1. Joey Logano*
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Juan Pablo Montoya
  4. Kasey Kahne*
  5. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  6. Jeff Gordon*
  7. Greg Biffle*
  8. Carl Edwards*
  9. Jimmie Johnson*
  10. Matt Kenseth*
  11. Paul Menard
  12. Kyle Busch*
  13. AJ Allmendinger
  14. Martin Truex Jr.
  15. Aric Almirola
  16. Kurt Busch*
  17. Kevin Harvick*
  18. Dale Earnhardt Jr.*
  19. David Ragan
  20. Ryan Newman*
  21. Jeff Burton
  22. Denny Hamlin
  23. Danica Patrick
  24. Clint Bowyer*
  25. Brian Vickers
  26. Marcos Ambrose
  27. Jamie McMurray
  28. Cole Whitt
  29. Mark Martin
  30. JJ Yeley
  31. Casey Mears
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. David Reutimann
  34. Josh Wise
  35. David Gilliland
  36. Justin Allgaier
  37. Travis Kvapil
  38. Michael McDowell
  39. Timmy Hill
  40. Reed Sorenson
  41. Dave Blaney
  42. Joe Nemechek
  43. Tony Raines

             * denotes Chase for the Sprint Cup contender

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About Kyle Brandt

Kyle Brandt is a co-owner and the Managing Editor at Rubbings Racing. He can be followed on Twitter (@kbrandtMRS) for the latest motorsports updates and information.

Recommended for you