NSCS: Casey Mears On Bristol Pole After Rain Cancels Qualifying


Casey Mears will start from the pole for the Irwin Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway in Bristol, Tennessee. (NASCAR IMC)

By: Kyle Brandt – Senior Writer

August 24, 2012

BRISTOL, TN– Fastest in Friday’s opening practice session, Casey Mears will start from the pole for Saturday night’s Irwin Tools Night Race as rain cancelled qualifying at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Although his pole won’t stand in the recording books and won’t clinch him a spot in February’s Budweiser Shootout, Mears will start in excellent to do the unthinkable and grab a win on Saturday night.

Brad Keselowski, who has won the last two races at Bristol in the Sprint Cup Series, will join Mears on the front row of the grid for the 500 lap race at the recently reconfigured race track in Tennessee.

Last week’s winner, Greg Biffle will start from the third position when the green flag waves and will be joined by Joey Logano on the second row.

Richard Childress Racing driver, Jeff Burton rounded out the top-five in the session with the starting lineup being determined by speeds in Friday’s opening practice session.

While Mears couldn’t have been happier that rain cancelled qualifying, drivers like Scott Speed and others who aren’t locked in the top 35 in owner’s points, felt the opposite. Kelly Bires, Reed Sorenson and J.J. Yeley join Scott Speed as the four drivers who failed to qualify.


  1. Casey Mears
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Greg Biffle
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Jeff Burton
  7. Paul Menard
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Marcos Ambrose
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Jeff Gordon
  12. Kasey Kahne
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Regan Smith
  15. Martin Truex Jr.
  16. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  17. Matt Kenseth
  18. David Gilliland
  19. Ryan Newman
  20. Kurt Busch
  21. Tony Stewart
  22. Brian Vickers
  23. Clint Bowyer
  24. David Ragan
  25. Dave Blaney
  26. Jamie McMurray
  27. Carl Edwards
  28. Juan Pablo Montoya
  29. Sam Hornish Jr.
  30. Michael McDowell
  31. David Stremme
  32. Josh Wise
  33. Landon Cassill
  34. Mike Bliss
  35. Scott Riggs
  36. Bobby Labonte
  37. Jimmie Johnson
  38. Stephen Leicht
  39. Jason Leffler
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Travis Kvapil
  42. Ken Schrader
  43. Danica Patrick

Live television coverage of the Irwin Tools Night Race from Bristol Motor Speedway begins at 7pm/ET Saturday night on ABC and can also be listened to on PRN and SiriusXM Satellite Radio channel 90.


Kyle Brandt is the Senior Writer for RubbingsRacing.com and can be followed on Twitter for the latest NASCAR news, opinions and analysis: @KyleBrandt_.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About Kyle Brandt

Kyle Brandt is a co-owner and the Managing Editor at Rubbings Racing. He can be followed on Twitter (@kbrandtMRS) for the latest motorsports updates and information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *